EPA-Logo-New-Full-Colour Recognised by Sport England as the Governing Body for Pool in England Sport-England-Badge
Report & Results

It was a weekend for the favourites at the Universities Pool Council Women’s Championships, held over the weekend of 25th to 27th February at McCuskys, Spondon, Derbyshire.

Oxford 1st won the Team Championship with a 5-2 win over York 1st with Alessandra La Via potting the winning eight-ball. Oxford were always in the lead in the match and although York pulled it back to 3-2 there was no stopping Oxford as they proceeded to wrap up the win. Oxford played well all weekend and were fully deserving of the honours.

England trialist Lorraine Fivey (University of Staffordshire) won the Individual Championship having too much class for Oxford 1st captain Sarah Milham in the final winning 4-1. Lorraine accounted for another Oxford 1st player, Kara Anderson in the semis whilst the other semi was a battle of the captains as Sarah took on her counterpart Clare Jeffreys of UWE narrowly scraping through 3-2. Despite a few close scrapes in the early rounds Lorraine showed her class and was a worthy champion.

Group A
Team W L RW RL Diff Pos
Plymouth 1st 2 0 10 1 9 1st
Warwick 1st 1 1 6 5 1 2nd
Birmingham 1st 0 2 0 10 -10 3rd
Group B
Team W L RW RL Diff Pos
Essex 1st 1 1 6 5 1 1st
York 1st 1 1 6 6 0 2nd
Oxford 2nd 1 1 5 6 -1 3rd
West of England 2nd WITHDRAWN
Group C
Team W L RW RL Diff Pos
Oxford 1st 3 0 15 2 13 1st
York 2nd 2 1 10 10 0 2nd
West of England 1st 1 2 9 13 -4 3rd
Essex 2nd 0 3 6 15 -9 4th
Knockout Phase
Elimination Round
2B: York 1st 5-2 2C: York 2nd
1C: Oxford 1st 5-4 2A: Warwick 1st
1A: Plymouth 1st 0-5 York 1st
1B: Essex 1st 2-5 Oxford 1st
York 1st 2-5 Oxford 1st
Quarter Finals
Angela Winter (Teesside) 1-3 Kara Anderson (Oxford 1)
Lorraine Fivey (Staffordshire) 3-0 Alessandra La Via (Oxford 1)
Clare Jeffreys (UWE 1) 3-1 Charlotte Butt (UWE 1)
Sarah Milham (Oxford 1) 3-2 Jen Skuse (UWE 1)
Semi Finals
Kara Anderson (Oxford 1) 1-3 Lorraine Fivey (Staffordshire)
Clare Jeffreys (UWE 1) 2-3 Sarah Milham (Oxford 1)
Lorraine Fivey (Staffordshire) 4-1 Sarah Milham (Oxford 1)